I’d like to be 10 stone 5….

In a recent conversation, someone said that someone’s son was only 5 stone 5 – they were concerned about his weight, that he might have an eating disorder. What the world? That’s a new one – “stones” as a different way to measure weight. It’s an actual legitimate way to describe weight. A “stone” is equal to 14 pounds. Therefore, 5 stones are 70 lbs. Five stone 5 would be 75 lbs. If that’s the case, I think I’d like to be 10 stone 5. That’s about what I was in grad school in my “height” of fitness. Learn something everyday! I thought this Wikipedia article on stones as a unit of measure was pretty insightful.
Stone Weight

Leave a Reply

