I’m missing Bonfire Night!

….a.k.a. Guy Fawkes – a 5 November celebration (“Remember, remember the 5th of November”). Apparently this is a big night of bonfires and fireworks in Scotland. It seems as big as our 4th of July here in the US! As it was explained to me, in 1605, Guy Fawkes and some of his pals conspired against parliament by planting 20 barrels of gun powder beneath the parliament building to blow up the seat of government and the king. However, they were caught just in time and were hung, drawn and quartered as a lesson to those planning on committing treason. Gruesome!! I hear their heads were put on stakes on London Bridge. His image is burned in bonfires along with a stuffed set of clothes (see below). Quite macabre.

In the meantime, it seems like a great excuse to light up some fireworks and have fun with family and friends! A colleague of mine tells me she has a head full of bits of fireworks from a 30-minute display in the garden with “neighbours” and friends. Sounds quite lovely! Wish I could be there. Bonfires are totally my thing. Sigh…maybe next year. On a positive note, I did get a social media (Facebook) response from the British Consulate in New York today. They at least provided me with an e-mail address that I can directly inquire about the progress of my visa myself – so that’s a slight win. Every little bit helps! More later.

Bonfire
Bonfire Night in Scotland
Guy Fawkes
Guy Fawkes
Fireworks over Glasgow
Fireworks over Glasgow on Guy Fawkes Night

 

Leave a Reply

