Happy Boxing Day (…so, what is it?)

I’ve heard of Boxing Day before – I know Canada celebrates it. And now, living in Scotland, I know the UK celebrates it too. And I know it’s the day after Christmas. But what IS it?? Do you sit around and watch boxing all day? Most people say it’s a day that they play with their presents and such but they weren’t sure exactly why it was called Boxing Day. Eventually someone told me it was a day where those who had servants would box up their leftovers from their Christmas feast the day before and give it to their servers. And/or they may also give presents to their workers. Quite interesting. In any case, it’s good to know, and Happy Boxing Day to all my Canadian and UK friends! Sounds like a day of fun to me. Does Boxing Day mean something else to you? Would love to know what you do on Boxing Day.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/956/6709287/files/2014/12/img_7634.jpg

Leave a Reply

