5 Things to Know About Getting Your Hair Done in the UK

So after being here a quarter of a year now I FINALLY broke down and decided to find a stylist. Just couldn’t take it anymore. The split ends were starting to weigh on my self-confidence and my color said – really?? Make a decision. There’s a few things, expat ladies, you might want to know before you go:

(1) No you can’t just waltz into a salon and say “got any openings?” (like I did). So much for spontaneity!! Beauty has to be quite planned here.

(2) You have to do a skin test. They swipe two different colored swabs of creams on the back of your neck. You have to leave it on for 45 minutes, wipe it off and then wait 40 hours. Right. FOURTY.

(3) THEN you can come back and get your hair done. But they’re quite thorough, I must say!! I went to Rainbow Room International in Royal Exchange Square, Glasgow, off of the recommendation of a friend of a friend. GREAT recommendation!! Another tip: DO ask for recommendations from people who have hair like yours. My hair is dark, curly/wavy. Everybody can’t get the color and cut right. So it pays to ask.

(4) Go for a senior stylist – well worth the money. They’re quite educational as well – picked up some new techniques for round brush blow drying. Definitely coming back. So glad I finally found someone in Scotland that can do my hair!!! Oh yeah – and they give you complimentary tea, coffee, cappuccinos, whatever while you’re there. #fab

(5) Payment. Might want to check beforehand if they’ll take your type of card. Luckily mine took my US “slider” debit card, but perhaps the smaller salons don’t. Additionally, it didn’t seem like a tip was expected – much like you don’t generally tip taxi drivers or waitresses.

So those are my top things I learned. What are yours? My biggest take away: you can’t really be spontaneous with your hair (not if you do color anyway), but other than that it can be a great experience!! Enjoy.

IMG_8876

2 Comments Add yours

  1. PoshPedlar says:

    (6) You are always asked ‘going anywhere nice on your holidays?’

    1. MissADS08 says:

      Ha!!! That’s a good one. I don’t know if I’ve gotten asked that, but I have been asked that day – “going anywhere nice tonight??”

Leave a Reply

